The London Mindful Project: Mindfulness for pain and illness

I’ve been interested in Mindfulness for quite a while now and so when a free seminar on Mindfulness for pain & illness popped up at London Mindful I was all over it.

I normally find their courses way out of my price range so I was pleasantly surprised that this was free and online. It was on a Wednesday evening so I could even partake from the safety of my duvet with a cup of tea!

I’ve had lots of problems with my health over the years but this year has probably been one of the hardest. With a bad neck & back being a standard for me, adding in a slipped disc which refuses to heal and ribs that are popping out in my sleep I’ve been dealing with quite a bit of pain lately. I’ve been researching quite a lot about how mindfulness can help with managing pain so I was really keen to try this out.

The course was online on a webchat, where all participants take part through a webcam and mic. The tutor talked us through the background of pain, and what it can do to our bodies. It was really interesting to hear the impact of chronic pain. She then went through some interesting information about how mindfulness can help with this (which I loved as I’m all about helping pain!) She also talked us through several meditations which were so good. I always find that the approach of a person talking you through the meditations is so important and the tutor’s approach was just right. Plus, the team at London Mindful are amazing and so helpful when my computer decided to crash at just the wrong moment!

I came out of the session feeling so calm, and like I had really given my brain a break. (Plus I had taped bake off for when I had finished so it was the perfect evening really! Who is everyone’s favourites?!)

I’m going to do a bit more research on a book the tutor suggested buying which was called Mindfulness for Health and contains an 8 week mindfulness course. I love the concept of mindfulness and being present in the current moment, rather than worrying about the past or future so I think applying this to my health would be perfect!

If anyone knows of any mindfulness classes (in person or online!) that are on the more affordable end of the spectrum please do let me know as I’d be so interested in getting involved 🙂

3 thoughts on “The London Mindful Project: Mindfulness for pain and illness

  1. This is a really interesting concept. I’ve only looked into mindfulness as a solution to emotional distress, but it makes sense that it would useful for physical pain as well.

    I know you only tried it for a bit, but as someone with chronic neck pain I’m curious what effects you experienced. Did it alleviate any pain or just make it more bearable?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi! I think mindfulness is definitely being introduced as a form of treatment for chronic pain, even within the NHS. I have chronic neck & back pain and so I was very interested in trying it out. We only tried it for a short space of time – but what I did find in just that short time was that it relaxed me a lot more. As a result I was holding less tension in my body and less anxiety which can often make my pain worse. Something as simple as being aware of how you are sitting (like my shoulders were up to my ears!) and making small adjustments like that can really help me personally and also being more relaxed makes an immediate difference in headaches. In terms of long term help for pain we were directed towards a book called “Mindfulness for Health” which contains an 8 week programme which I have just bought. I have also been reading the “Happiness Trap” which also has an interesting introduction to mindfulness and ACT which can be applied to pain management.

      Like

  2. The Happiness Trap is an excellent book. I think Mark Williams is the author who writes about mindfulness and mental health and pain reduction. As a Buddhist I see mindfulness embedded in a way of life, not necessarily a technique although that is how it is now packaged!

    Like

Leave a Reply

