Why Write?

As I’ve mentioned in a previous post I had been over-thinking what kind of content I should post on this blog, and in the process of that (albeit a bit annoying over-thinking process!) I was thinking about why I want to write.

I think there are lots and lots of reasons why people want to write. Some because it gives them pure joy, others as a form of expression. For others it is their job and for some it can be a very therapeutic process to work through what they are feeling by formulating words.

Whether or not you write for pleasure, work or as a means of making sense of what is going on in your life, I think it can be massively beneficial. I know countless people who deem writing to be massively helpful.

I’ve never written a journal, or diary and so I can’t say writing has been massively therapeutic for me. But I am looking forward to documenting some things in my life that I might otherwise forget.

I tend to focus on the big things in life – like moving, starting a new Uni course or going on holiday. I have a tendency to forget the small things and I think these are the things that can bring the most amount of joy & happiness on a day to day basis.

I’ve recently been thinking about the word “tendency” and how this means that you don’t HAVE to do something that way. Like, you might have a tendency to get angry at slow people walking through the tube (yes, it’s a sore point) but that doesn’t mean you get riled up every single time. It just means you TEND to do it. We have the power to change our behaviours by being more aware of them, and mindful of them. So my aim is to consider what I “tend” to do, and whether or not these are behaviours I want to continue with. Or whether or not I want to push against my tendencies and change my behaviour. However small that change might be.

Making room and appreciating the small things in life, the day to day things that make me happy and grateful to be living the life I lead, is something I want to focus on. I want to lean away from my tendency to always be focused on the next big thing, and instead appreciate the current moment, and what is going on in the present.

This is where my “Living Grateful” series come in. Each week I am going to document 5 things I am grateful for. They won’t always be massive milestones (because, let’s face it, who has something that big to document each week?) but little things in my life that have made me happy. It is “Living” grateful because it is about me living my life on a day to day basis, but being more aware and actively making a note of the little things.

Starting the series of “Living Grateful” and writing it down each Sunday to share with you, is a way to make me accountable. It ensures that I continue with the process of looking for the little things, even in weeks that otherwise might get overlooked with the hum-drum of day to day life, or weeks where they are little darker than usual.

I hope you will come along with me for the journey, and even maybe let me know what you have been grateful for that week.

I didn’t really know what I wanted to write about when I put pen to paper this afternoon, but through the process of writing, I have figured out an, albeit small, change in my life that I want to make. So maybe that’s the form that my writing will take. Writing, for me, creates the headspace I need to think about my life, who I want to be and the way I want to lead it, rather than being constantly stuck on the hamster ball running to the next destination in the Game of Life.

I now write, every Sunday evening, about the little things I am grateful for. I write to remember my life, not for the big milestones, but for the every day things that make me happy.

Leave a Reply

