Mindfulness

Mindfulness.

Now it’s a word that’s been floating around a lot lately. But what exactly is it? And how do you do it?


I discovered mindfulness through an app called “Headspace” which I downloaded 2 years ago (to the day actually). It has guided general meditations and meditations for particular areas of your life, such as commuting, walking and even fear of flying. It also contains series about health, relationships and performance. There is SO much content on the app, I haven’t even got through it all and I have had the app for 2 year. The app allows you to access the first 10 sessions before you have to sign up for a subscription so you can see if you like it for free. It also has some very informative video animations which describe exactly how mindfulness works and the science behind it. You can also gift a subscription to the app to someone else, so if you know someone who might be interested in mindfulness, here’s the perfect present idea for you! (You can thank me later 😉 )

I then moved onto various books and in particular the Headspace book which I picked up for the bargain of £1 in a charity shop, keep a look out 😉 I also read The Gratitude Diaries which also talked a bit about mindfulness. (As does the Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin!)

Mindfulness focuses on being in the moment, not necessarily trying to think of nothing, but noticing the thoughts and then letting them go and bringing your thoughts back to your breath. It helps you focus on being in the moment and the present, rather than worrying about the past or the future. With so much going on in the world at the moment, I have been really enjoying just being able to be in the present. It is also beginning to make me appreciate the smaller things in life, like the sunset or spending quality time with people, things that might otherwise completely pass me by with my brain wandering off thinking about tomorrow, or next week, or even next year!

There is also lots of science behind how mindfulness works and how it can improve your happiness levels. I don’t want to go into it too much here but check out the science tab on the Headspace website if you want to find out more information.

I love listening to the guided meditations on the Headspace app… when they’re not sending me to sleep, but then I guess that is pure relaxation!!

Have you guys had any experiences with mindfulness? I’d love to hear your stories.

IMG_5536

6 thoughts on “Mindfulness

  1. Pingback: The London Mindful Project: Mindfulness for pain and illness – pagemusings

  2. I’m currently reading Mindfulness for Creativity by Dr Danny Penman, it’s very interesting! It’s amazing how much we do on autopilot, or should I say scary?! I’m still learning 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

