Why I have a love/hate relationship with blogging

I just want to clarify one thing at the start of this post. The negative views I’m stating of blogging are not my own. I do not see blogging in a negative light or believe any of the stereotypes surrounding blogging.  I am explaining how I feel about blogging in light of these stereotypes.

I have a love/hate relationship with blogging. There is no doubt about it.

IMG_8728

 

I love it. And I also hate parts of it.

I hate that it seems to be an oversaturated market. I hate that there are hundreds, if not thousands, of people doing the same thing. It makes you feel like you are just adding to the white noise, that there is little point in writing and that you are not unique. It’s hard to find your place in a world where everything seems to have been done already, and at that, with prettier photos and a glossier blog.

I hate that there are stereotypes of blogging, which I do not feel I fit into. I do not believe the stereotypes but know a lot of people who do, and I wouldn’t want to be boxed into the beauty/fashion blogger that people assume all of blogging is about. I know a lot of people who wouldn’t consider writing about those things worthwhile (me not included) and I know I would be automatically judged for having a blog and assuming I’m a bit “dipsy” as I would only be writing about beauty, fashion or other materialistic things. (Again, not my view, but I know the judgements people make.) It frustrates me as blogging is about so much more than fashion and beauty now. There are literally hundreds of online magazines about ANY topic you want. Hundreds of individual voices, viewpoints and ideas at your fingertips that you can use to enrich your life. So, yes, the stereotype annoys me, as people do not realise what they are missing out on!

It also frustrates me that that there seems to be a massive gender divide in blogging, and that it is seen as girly. Blogs are just as much for women as they are for men and not all blogs are aimed at females that’s for sure! I think this is for another blog post though…

I also can be so disappointed in the generic nature of some blogs. The same campaigns. Similar posts. The same Instagram photos. Yes I love to see your photos, but I also love a bit of individuality. A different voice, sounding above the others is what I want to hear, not the same generic comments about the same beauty product. I need something unique.

However, I do think the crux of my issue with blogging is that writing down my thoughts, and writing the things I care about that people can read, scares me shitless. I am terrified of the judgements of what I am writing about and how I am writing it. It scares me that I am giving a little bit of myself to people and it scares me that I have taken the step of sharing it with people I do know.

I have felt so much anxiety at each stage of sharing this blog. I questioned whether I should start writing again, what to write about and whether to share on Twitter. Sharing on Facebook is so out of my range right now!

But I’ve decided to force myself to be confident, and say yes to blogging. The pros of writing my thoughts down and building this blog far outweigh me questioning myself, and what other people might think of me. I’m excited to document the fun things I’m doing and be able to look back on it in a year and remember everything. I’m excited to raise awareness for some of the issues that concern & interest me. I’m excited to be part of a community that is so supportive and full of similar women with similar concerns. I am excited, as cliche as it might be, to build a voice for myself. That’s what I love about blogging.

So, sorry, you’re stuck with me spamming your Twitter feeds for now ❤

 

Leave a Reply

