Living Grateful #3

3 weeks in! Wow! I wasn’t sure how I would take to getting back into blogging again, but I am absolutely loving it so far! I feel full of ideas for what I want to add to this little page and I’m really excited about it. I’ve had a lovely week relaxing in the sunshine in France, so here are 5 things I am grateful about this week.

  1. Stopping for coffee

I’ve loved having some time this week to go into town and stop for a coffee. Espresso is my fave here and I’ve really enjoyed having some chilled time to catch up with people in town over a coffee.

2. Going for a long walk in Peyrusse-Le-Roc

I haven’t been to Peyrusse-Le-Roc in a LONG time (we’re talking like 12 years) and it was lovely to go back and see the little town dating from the 9th Century on a massive hill. We then did a signposted walk down the hill (I’m gonna start calling it a mountain soon!) and along the river in the valley. The whole walk is less than 3k and should take less than an hour. Unfortunately I’ve slipped a disc recently and although it’s mostly healed it’s still causing me lots of problems. The walk back up the mountain (yup) basically consisted of Scott dragging me up and making sure I didn’t fall over the side and into the valley below because I was so unstable. I think the only thing that kept me going was the prospect of lunch at the end. Even though I was in quite a lot of pain for the few days after the walk I’m really glad I did it as it proved to me that I can do some exercise and my back is getting a lot stronger again! (Although I think I’ll stick to flat walks for a bit now…)

Here’s the view from the top – worth it right?! 

3. Spending time with my cats

Yes, crazy cat lady alert. I’ve recently moved out so I don’t get to see my cats as often as I would like now so it has been really nice to be able to sit stroking them and see them playing in the garden! 

4. Watching Rebellion on Netflix

Mum and I have been looking for a new tv series to watch and we stumbled across “Rebellion” on Netflix. It’s a 5 part series about the Easter Sunday rebellion in 1916. I ashamedly knew very little about Irish politics and it’s been really interesting to learn something new. The series also focuses on women in Ireland during this time and the issues they faced with autonomy. Well worth a watch!

5. Celebrating Mum’s birthday

It was really nice this year to celebrate Mum’s birthday this year with just the two of us in Rodez. Lunch and shopping!


What have you been up to this week that you are grateful for? 

 

3 thoughts on “Living Grateful #3

  1. I found your blog through Gretchen Rubin’s tweet, and I love reading about your journey! I’m also trying to move toward a life of gratefulness and peace. I’ve been toying with the idea of blogging/journaling about gratefulness, and I really like this series you’re doing. I look forward to reading more from you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

