Book Review #2 – Year of Yes

The Year of Yes is written by Shonda Rhimes. The Shonda Rhimes of Scandal, Greys Anatomy and How to Get Away with Murder, so you know it’s going to be good. I mean how could it not be when she has created and written such amazing shows?


I knew it was going to be good. I didn’t realise how emotive it would be. The book is about her year of saying yes to anything and everything in order to change her “no” attitude. It is witty, funny and relatable.

I found the first half of the book a bit storylike. She was going through the motions of telling her reader the background to her “year of yes”, her methods and her first few experiences of saying yes. The second half however was incredible. It was inspiring. It made me proud to be a woman, proud to be reading the book, and proud of our society and the steps we have made forwards.

The book talks a lot about her role in getting black woman into leading roles on tv. It had been something I had taken for granted, but I hadn’t realised that before the programmes Shonda Rhimes created there had been no leading black woman on primetime tv for years. The second half of the book details speeches she has given about this and just reading those alone are worthwhile, let alone the whole book!

It has definitely inspired me to say yes to more things. She shows how important saying yes can be, how saying no drives you into a hole and makes you a shadow of yourself. Saying yes, whilst it may be hard, is worthwhile, and allows you to increase in confidence. I think it is true what they say, that you grow when you are outside of your comfort zone.

So. I am saying yes to life. I’m not going to say yes to everything, because frankly, I couldn’t cope with that. But I am going to say yes to more things. I have said yes to finally starting writing on this blog again even though it petrifies me that I share this with the world and it’s not just in my head. I am going to say yes to more social things, not staying inside and within my comfort zone.

Thank you once again to Shonda Rhimes for your incredible writing, once again inspiring me!

2 thoughts on “Book Review #2 – Year of Yes

  1. Pingback: 4 plans for London in September – pagemusings

  2. Pingback: Why I have a love/hate relationship with blogging – pagemusings

Leave a Reply

