Dear Diary: moving!

In late June I made the move out of my parent’s house in the suburbs of London into a flat in East London with an amazing friend from Uni. It all felt very surreal at the time as I had just finished exams for the GDL and moving became a flurry of hurriedly buying IKEA furniture, kitchen essentials and putting together bookcases. I then went on holiday to Dubrovnik for a week and then had a massively busy July. Amongst the excitement of finally being free from exams and the tiredness from not really recovering from the 8 exams I had just sat, I didn’t really have time to stop and think that I had finally properly flown the nest and actually had a space to call my own (and bookshelf space to fill!) I’m now on holiday in rural France and it’s only now that I’m beginning to truly think about the fact that I have moved out and what will be in store for me when I get back to London at the end of August.

I’m equal parts nervous and excited. I’m excited because it’s my own space and I feel like I can be truly independent. I can finally explore London without an hours train journey between me and the city, and I can finally meet up with friends without having to make extensive plans due to the journey involved. However, this isn’t a student house-share anymore, it’s my own place and with that comes this weight of responsibility I haven’t had before. I now care whether the bin is clean (seriously, I never thought I would care about this), and why the dishwasher smells funny and why there’s a plank that keeps falling down in the Kitchen. I care about whether the balcony is clean and that I don’t have enough coasters for the living room (Granny alert).

But I think the excited part of me is beginning to take over. I’ve had a list of things I’ve wanted to do in London for years now, but just never had the energy to commute back into central on a weekend after commuting in for Uni all week. I’m so looking forward to being able to explore the city I have technically lived in for my whole life but never really got to know. I’ve already pre-warned my boyfriend of the hundreds of coffee shops, markets and shops I’m going to be dragging him to when September rolls around.

Although I think it will be a shock getting back to the busy London life, being responsible for a flat, and starting a new Law Course. The excitement of what living in London will involve is definitely outweighing the nervous side of my brain.

Do any of you have any recommendations for places I can add to my list to visit when I’m back in London?

IMG_5275

 

2 thoughts on “Dear Diary: moving!

  1. Pingback: 4 plans for London in September – pagemusings

  2. Pingback: Living Grateful #3 – pagemusings

Leave a Reply

