Dear Diary: practising gratitude

So. I’ve been really into reading up on all things gratitude lately. (See my previous post Book Review #1 – The Gratitude Diaries for more info and such). I think gratitude can have a massively positive impact on your outlook on life. I like to think of myself as a positive person, and I think gratitude can only add to that.

After reading The Gratitude Diaries I’ve started a gratitude diary. I write 3 things at the end of each day that I am grateful for. These have ranged from being grateful for my mum cooking me a delicious meal (go mum!) or being able to use my legs and walk. Anything goes! It really does help alter your perspective of your day into looking at the silver lining and the good aspect of your day, rather than the negative. I think it has even been proven that you always remember the thing that happened last. So if the last thing to happen to you at any given time, maybe a horrible end of a holiday or awkward end to a phone conversation you are more likely to dwell on that than the lovely holiday you just had. So I think writing 3 things I am grateful for at the end of each day means that positivity sticks in my mind!

It’s amazing how easy it is to think of things to be grateful for. We live in a world where I know I take so much for granted, like having easy access to buying food, unlimited water and warmth, that I forget how lucky I am. This gratitude diary helps to remind me of that, and even on bad days I can still think of 3 things I am grateful for. Okay.. so quite a few times I have been grateful for my cats.. but still, it’s a positive thought!!

Following in the same footsteps as my gratitude diary I have decided to have a weekly post on here called “Living Grateful”. This will be where I write what I am grateful for that week, hopefully with some accompanying photos – if I can remember to take any!!

Hopefully this inspires you to start your own gratitude diary – let me know if you do and how you get along 🙂

Have a lovely Saturday everyone!

IMG_9632

7 thoughts on “Dear Diary: practising gratitude

  1. YAY! An Attitude of Gratitude!
    And why not be grateful for your cats? They are VERY beneficial. Their purr is therapeutic and much more.
    We wish we could have cats, which is not possible where we live now. So, yes, grateful for your cats each day is awesome (in my book).
    I am grateful to have discovered this post. Thank you. ren
    ps; I did a recent post about my ‘Gratitude Stones’, you might find of interest. 🙂
    Enjoy your weekend…..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like your thinking, they are very therapeutic! I’ve recently moved out from my family home but I’m doing some research into getting a rescue cat in my new place 🙂 Glad you liked the post, I’m just about to check out yours now 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: Living Grateful #1 – pagemusings

  4. Pingback: Dear Diary: happiness & attitude – pagemusings

  5. Amazing I just got to the part about being grateful for your cat and our cat Rati jumped up onto me. I am sat outside under the stars and I never saw him coming. He adopted us over 8 years ago and every day we are grateful he did.

    Like

    • Aw how lovely! Cats have a way of adopting you don’t they! Mine has slept with me every night for the past 10 years and still sits and waits outside my door for me when I’m not home!

      Like

Leave a Reply

