Why I love my UP band

I’ve been using my UP band (I think it’s called an UP band… the company is Jawbone anyway for those of you searching this) for about a year and a half now and I absolutely love it.

It’s a little band that you wear on your wrist and it monitors your steps and sleep which you can then view on the UP app on your phone. You can also choose to input your food and drink but I don’t use that function, but it looks like it could be useful.

I find that I am far more likely to take the stairs, walk up and down the garden or even get myself out for the walk knowing that there is something on my wrist which monitors my steps and adds it to a daily total. I aim for 10,000 steps a day and 8 hours of sleep. I can’t say I always reach my target but I give it a go!

I have joined a team which includes my parents and a few family friends. I’m a competitive person and so it really helps me keep motivated to get my steps up and that little bit of exercise can really make a difference! My mum has been known to walk on the spot for ages to get her steps up so you can see what I’m dealing with here… šŸ˜‰ You can also inputĀ individual workouts which I love, from pilates to running to a session in the gym –Ā keeping track of how much exercise I do really helps me get into a routine.

I find that it also makes me go to bed a bit earlier as I can see how little sleep I get otherwise. I was kidding myself into thinking I was getting more sleep than I was before I started looking at it daily on my phone.

The app gives you tips and advice, one tip which often pops up for me is to go to bed at a similar time each night and wake up at a similar time in the morning – something I’m clearly not very good at! It also suggests little challenges for yourself – like when to go to bed to match your weekly average and how many cups of water you should drink a day. I really like these little health tips to keep me thinking about my wellbeing on a daily basis.

Are any of you using jawbone? I’d love to add you and so we can keep eachother motivated šŸ™‚

 

One thought on “Why I love my UP band

  1. I nominated you for 2 truths and 1 lie. You can find my version on my blog. The rules are basically to post 5 sets of 2 true facts about yourself and 1 lie. In the comments, people will put their answers. Make sure to share the answers later. Have a blessed day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

